22 March 2008

Nine Inch Nails - Purest Feeling (remastered) 1988 Demo

Nine Inch Nails
Purest Feeling

1. Intro
2. Sanctified
3. Maybe Just Once
4. The Only Time
5. Kinda I Want To
6. That's What I Get
7. Purest Feeling
8. Ringfinger (Twist)
9. Down In It

Purest Feeling is a bootleg of the original demo version of Nine Inch Nails' debut album, Pretty Hate Machine, that was recorded at the Right Track Studio in November 1988 by Trent Reznor, whilst he was still working as a cleaner there. It was released as a CD in 1994 by Hawk Records.

The sound is brighter (and in some cases happier) than that of the final versions on Pretty Hate Machine; several songs feature more drumming and guitar work throughout, as well as a heavier use of samples from films. "Kinda I Want To" is reminiscent of early house music. "Twist" is an early version of "Ringfinger", featuring different lyrics and less use of sample loops. The entire album has segues leading each track into the next.

Purest Feeling also features the full lyrics cut from the final versions of songs later released on Pretty Hate Machine; Reznor chose to print the full lyrics in the Pretty Hate Machine booklet to retain some of the original meanings of his songs.

no covers
p/w: sparkyibew

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

looking forward to listening to this debut